Equities

Samsung SDI's US battery JV cut its guaranteed debt 45% — the same year it turned its first profit

Samsung SDI cut its guarantee on StarPlus Energy's debt from $3.85bn to $2.11bn (−45.2%), the same filing showing the Stellantis battery venture's income swing from a ₩33.7bn loss in 2024 to a ₩123.1bn profit in 2025.

AI-assisted, human-reviewed sourcing. Figures are pulled programmatically from the official sources listed at the end of this article and checked by an editor before publication.

samsung sdistarplus energystellantisbatterydebt guaranteekorean equities

On 4 September 2026, Samsung SDI’s board revised a debt guarantee for StarPlus Energy LLC, its electric-vehicle battery joint venture with Stellantis, first disclosed on 13 December 2024. The revision cuts both the underlying debt and Samsung SDI’s guarantee of it by the same proportion — 45.2% — while the venture’s own disclosed financials show its first profitable year.

The revision, in the company’s own figures

Item Original (2024-12-13) Revised (2026-09-04) Change
Total debt (StarPlus Energy) $7,540,752,378 $4,132,257,708.66 −45.2%
Samsung SDI’s guarantee (51% stake) $3,845,783,714 $2,107,451,432 −45.2%
Guarantee, won-converted ₩2,865,080,221,015
Guarantee as % of Samsung SDI’s equity 12.16%
Guarantee period 2026-09-04 to 2035-12-15

The guarantee stays at exactly 51% of the debt before and after the revision — Samsung SDI’s ownership share in the joint venture is unchanged; only the total borrowing being guaranteed has moved. The filing states the reduced debt and guarantee figures without giving a reason for the change.

What StarPlus Energy’s own numbers show

The filing carries a summary of the debtor’s financial condition, on a year-end basis:

StarPlus Energy LLC (₩bn) 2023 2024 2025
Total assets 1,798.7 7,607.8 7,711.6
Total liabilities 183.0 5,242.4 5,291.8
Total equity 1,615.7 2,365.4 2,419.8
Revenue 56.3 931.1
Net income −30.2 −33.7 123.1

Revenue rose from ₩56.3bn to ₩931.1bn — a roughly sixteen-fold increase — as the plant moved from pre-production (no revenue recorded in 2023) toward output. Net income turned from a ₩33.7bn loss to a ₩123.1bn profit over the same one-year span, the first profit the disclosed figures show for the venture.

The debt-guarantee cut and the swing to profitability appear in the same filing but the filing does not state that one caused the other; that connection is not made here.

What triggered the search interest this piece was written to answer

A same-day Google Trends spike (search volume 500+) on 2026-09-05 attached Samsung SDI’s name to a headline reporting a share-price gain on “domestic ESS market expansion” expectations. This piece could not verify that share-price move: the Korea Exchange’s own data site returned a service-unavailable error on both 2026-09-04 and 2026-09-05, and no other same-day price source was substituted. Readers arriving from that search will not find the stock-move figure confirmed here — what is confirmed, from Samsung SDI’s own DART filings, is the debt-guarantee revision and StarPlus Energy’s turn to profit described above.

This is a record of what was filed with DART, not investment advice.

Data & Verification Notes

Data as of
Sources
Cross-checks
  • The filing is itself a revision of a 2024-12-13 debt-guarantee decision for the same debtor (StarPlus Energy LLC) and creditors (U.S. Department of Energy, U.S. Federal Financing Bank) — read from the referenced-disclosures line inside the 2026-09-04 filing, not assumed
  • Samsung SDI's revised guarantee amount is exactly 51.00% of the revised total debt ($2,107,451,432 / $4,132,257,708.66) — matching the same 51% stake ratio implied by the original 2024 figures ($3,845,783,714 / $7,540,752,378 = 51.0%), an internal consistency check across the old and new numbers
  • The filing's own KRW conversion checks out: $2,107,451,432 × ₩1,359.50/$ (the rate stated as the board-resolution-date reference rate) = ₩2,865,080,221,804, matching the filed KRW guarantee figure of ₩2,865,080,221,015 to within rounding
  • The new guarantee is 12.16% of Samsung SDI's own equity (₩23,570,113,159,830, stated as year-end-2025 basis) — the filed disparity-to-equity ratio, not separately computed here
Excluded figures
  • The 'domestic ESS market expansion' narrative that a 2026-09-05 Google Trends spike (search volume 500+) attached to Samsung SDI, sourced from a news headline about a same-day share-price move. That move could not be independently verified here — Korea Exchange's own site (data.krx.co.kr) returned a service-unavailable error on two separate checks (2026-09-04 and 2026-09-05), and no alternative same-day price source was used. This piece does not claim or repeat that stock-move figure.
  • Whether StarPlus Energy is an ESS (energy storage system) plant or an EV-battery plant. Public reporting describes StarPlus Energy as Samsung SDI's electric-vehicle battery joint venture with Stellantis in Kokomo, Indiana — a different battery end-market from grid-scale ESS. This piece does not conflate the two; readers looking for the ESS story specifically will not find it answered here. Checked and not found within DART's structured filings for this corp code in the 2026-08-01 to 2026-09-05 window
  • Why the debt amount was renegotiated down. The filing states the change and the resulting guarantee amount but gives no narrative reason (e.g., refinancing, construction-cost revision, loan restructuring). Checked and not found in the filing text
  • The other counter-guarantees making up StarPlus Energy's ₩3.96tn total guarantee balance. That total is disclosed as excluding this filing's own revised amount, but the filing does not break out who holds the rest (co-guarantor Stellantis's own guarantee share is not disclosed here)
Instruments
006400

The full dataset behind these figures — every listed company, every row — is available to license. SeoulMarkets data for licence →

Not investment advice. SMarkets publishes data journalism for general information only. Nothing here is investment advice, a recommendation, or an offer to buy or sell any security — any investment you make is at your own risk and responsibility. Figures are derived from official public data sources and may be revised by the issuing agency. Verify independently before acting.

← More Equities
SeoulMarkets dataLicense the Korea valuation tapePER, PBR and ROE for every listed Korean company, with the price date and the fiscal year on every row